Trying Out Polymer Clay Noses

I saw this post by Francesca that she posted in the teddy-talk forums and it gave me a nudge.

I’ve been meaning to try out polymer clay noses for a while, but I hadn’t put much thought into how to begin. So when I read her tutorial post, it gave me that little spark of inspiration and motivation to head out, and find me some Fimo!

I used a 5mm English glass eye for the “base” and a bear whose nose had been giving me lots of trouble.

The bear without the nose.

Francesca showed enough photos that it was a breeze to try it out.

It took a few attempts at sculpting the nose as this was my first try. I had overestimated the amount of Fimo I needed and ended up with about half the amount of Fimo as I started with!

The oven-baked nose.

While I’m happy with my first attempt at a nose, I’m not sure how I feel about the end result on the bear. The nose doesn’t look like I was initially trying for. So I’ve decided to let him wear it for a few days to see how I feel while I work on some other things. I can also still try sanding and painting the nose, or even making another one!

The bear, trying out his new nose. (Not fixed in, he’s just trying it on)

– – – – –

Emily x

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Trying Out Polymer Clay Noses

  1. Francesca - KALEideaSCOPE October 24, 2012 at 8:23 am Reply

    Your nose looks great! I often end up with a couple of noses of different sizes-shapes and see which one looks best on the bear. That is a thing that I like with Fimo noses, you can always change your mind at the last minute….unless the nose is already glued into place!

  2. batfinch October 24, 2012 at 3:10 pm Reply

    Thank you 🙂 I’m not used to my bears having the solid noses, so I think that’s why I’m so undecided with it! I think I will try making another polymer clay nose, and also try embroidering the nose again Just to make sure before I go ahead and do something permanent (like glueing the nose on!). But I agree, the ability to change your mind about a nose right at the last second seems very valuable indeed! I shall definitely try making more!

    Thanks for the inspiration! 😀

    Emily x

Leave a comment